Joy Ogwu assumes UN security council presidency

Nigeria’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Prof. Joy Ogwu, Tuesday assumed the one-month rotational presidency of the United Nations Security Council for the month of April.

She took over from Ambassador Sylvie Lucas, the Permanent Representative of Luxembourg, who held the presidency for the month of March.

Nigeria was elected a non-permanent member of the Security Council on October 17, 2013 and will serve on the council for 2014-2015 period.

This is the fifth time since independence that Nigeria would be elected to serve on the most powerful decision-making organ of the United Nations charged with the maintenance of international peace and security. 

Nigeria previously served on the council from 1966-1967, 1978-1979, 1994-1995 and 2011-2012.
Nigeria's return to the council in January after having left only in December 2012, representing one of the shortest periods in the annals of the UN that a member state has spent between two terms on the council.

This is even more remarkable as it is occurring under the institutional memory of the same Permanent Representative, Ambassador Joy Ogwu.

Nigeria currently holds the chair of two Security Council Committees: the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau, and the Ad hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa.

In addition, Nigeria is one of the three vice-chairs of the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1540 (2004), concerning the non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction; and one of the two vice-chairs of the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1591 (2005) concerning Sudan.

With the support of all other members of the council, Nigeria will use its month-long presidency to actively promote the cause of international peace and security, in line with the principles of the UN Charter and the mandate of the council.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.