Brazil 2014: Osaze makes Keshi's 30-man provisional list

Super Eagles striker Ike Uche was the biggest casualty on Tuesday as Stephen Keshi, the Super Eagles Head Coach released a 30-man provisional list for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Uche, who plays for Spanish club Villarreal, was excluded with Leon Balogun, Eagles newly-discovered defender who plies his football trade with German club, Fortuna Dusseldorf.

Bright Dike, U.S-based Eagles striker who scored vital goals for the Eagles in the friendly games against Catalonian and Italy was also missing in the list.

Dike got Nigeria’s equaliser in the 1-1 draw against Catalonia in an international friendly and the Eagles first goal in the 2-2 draw recorded against Italy in another friendly encounter.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Keshi released the list to newsmen in Abuja after the Nigeria Football Association (NFA) Technical Committee’s meeting.

According to Keshi, the delay witnessed in the release of the list was to enable him to carry out full assessment of the players as most European leagues rounded off this month.

The “Big Boss’’ as Keshi is popularly called, pointed out that the 30-man squad would prosecute the three international friendly matches with Scotland, Greece and the USA.

He said a final 23-man list for the World Cup would be announced on June 2 as the invited players were expected to arrive the team’s camp in England on May 25.

Keshi said this would enable the team to prepare for the international friendly against Scotland.

The match against Scotland had been scheduled for May 28 at the Craven Cottage, England, while the game against Greece would be played at the Philadelphia Union Stadium, U.S. on June 3.

The friendly encounter against the U.S. would take place at the EverBank Field Stadium in Jacksonville, U.S. on June 7. The invited players include goalkeepers Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Chigozie Agbim, and Daniel Akpeyi.

In the defence, we have Elderson Echiejile, Juwon Oshaniwa, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kenneth Omeruo, Joseph Yobo and Kunle Odunlami.

The midfielders are Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Ramon Azeez, Ejike Uzoenyi, Sunday Mba, Gabriel Rueben, Nosa Igiebor, Joel Obi and Michael Uchebo,

“While Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Victor Moses, Emmanuel Emenike, Victor Nsofor, Osaze Odemwingie , Babatunde Michael, Uche Nwafor and Nnamdi Oduamadi are in the forward line,’’ Keshi said.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.